FFfAW – My Christmas Story

It was the Christmas season and signs of the season were everywhere: Christmas lights, Christmas music, along with various Santa's and elves. I loaded my two children in the car to go do some Christmas shopping.

Six year old Brandon settled himself in the car while I settled in his three year old sister.

All of a sudden my son said, “Mommy, I know there isn't a Santa. It's you and daddy.”

My heart jumped out of my throat because his little sister still believed in Santa and I didn't want the experience ruined for her. I had to think quickly.

I stopped what I was doing and looked right at Brandon and said, “Oh really? Did you know that when you stop believing he stops coming?”

His little eyes got huge and he quickly replied, “I BELIEVE, I BELIEVE!”

Santa came to our house once again to bring gifts to two very excited little children.

156

Thank you Akshata Ram for our photo prompt this week!

 

This is my 156 word story for the flash fiction challenge, Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. We are given a photo prompt that is kindly photographed by our participants and approximately 75-175 words with which to create our stories. It's fun and everyone is invited to participate. For more information, click HERE.

To read all the stories submitted for this challenge, click on the blue froggy button below:

 

37 thoughts on “FFfAW – My Christmas Story

  1. A magical story, May Santa live long for these two children and all who believe in Christmas. Compliments of the season to you PJ.

    • I’m sure many parents have used this but I sure was grateful when it came into my head! I saved the magic of Christmas for my little daughter and my son enjoyed Santa for a few more years. LOL! Thank you so much Jodi. I am still having problems with my stomach and digestive track. I sure am tired of being sick. Hopefully, I will be able to contribute a few more stories in the near future. I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas season!

  2. Lovely to have a PJ story again, you have been missed! I can sympathise with the parent – it’s a minefield trying to avoid the truth for at least one more year! 🙂

    • Thank you Iain! I didn’t mind Brandon knowing the truth but his sister was still young enough to believe in Santa and I didn’t want it spoiled for her. Yes, it is difficult to get them to believe even one more year.

  3. Is it really that bad if a little child believes his parents are getting him the gifts? For him they represent Santa in human form. This is just a thought.

  4. Awww … all the fun is gone once children don’t believe. A very nice response to his doubt.
    I know I still believe … LOLOL
    Nicely done, PJ. Hope you had a wonderful holiday season.
    May your New Year be filled with fabulous wonders.
    Izzy 😎

    • That is true! But older children shouldn’t ruin Santa for the younger kids. I still believe in Santa too! Hahaha! I hope you have a year filled with love, joy, happiness, good health and prosperity! XO

      >

I would love to read your thoughts...