FFfAW – The Empty Bench

Julie and I came to this bench in the park almost every warm Sunday during our 48 year marriage. I have a lot of fond memories here. We would bring a sack lunch and after we ate we would feed the birds and enjoy being outdoors and being together.

Julie became sick and we found out it was an aggressive cancer. She died six months later.

I continued coming to this park and would remember my beautiful wife, Julie.

Then I became sick with cancer and I died ten months later.

Now, Julie and I are together again…

98

Thank you Wildverbs for our photo prompt this week!

 

This is my 98 word story for the flash fiction challenge, Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. We are given a photo prompt that is kindly photographed by our participants and approximately 75-175 words with which to create our stories. It's fun and everyone is invited to participate.

To read all the stories submitted for this challenge, click on the blue froggy button below:

 

41 thoughts on “FFfAW – The Empty Bench

  1. Another one that’s so sad. I’m working an event this week supporting cancer. I hope someday there’s away to stop the prevalence and brutalness of the disease for those of every age. I feel very sad for this man, he is very direct and I think hurt and lost without his wife. His struggle with cancer is also terrible, but I think almost a relief to be with his wife who has already passed.

    • Cancer is a terrible disease for sure! Even though many strides have been made to stop cancer from spreading, it still is a fatal disease for many. Good for you for supporting such a worthy cause!

      • Thanks PJ. I do support it a great deal as you know my one friend has been battling it 3 years now. She’s just 32. But, this event I work, so I’m hoping to get golfers at this event to bid high on items to support the Alberta Cancer Foundation in Canada, in the silent auction lol. I’m very happy to work it though.

  2. And that’s them sitting together on the bench feeding the birds…you just have to believe in ghosts to see them? Do you see them??? 😉 xoxo ❤

I would love to read your thoughts...